The WWDC21 Guide to Swift Concurrency

Tobias Wissmueller
2 min readJun 9, 2021
Image: Apple

This post provides an overview about all Swift Concurrency related topics presented at this years WWDC21.

As WWDC21 is still in full-speed, more and more session are popping up that elaborate on my favourite topic for this year: Swift Concurrency.

Concurrency and asynchronous code is one of the topics I regularly have to deal with since I have started to write code many years ago.

It is also one of those programming related topics where I had to bang my head the most against a wall. I am far from having mastered this topic and trying to improve on an ongoing basis.

Therefore, I am particularly happy that Swift, being my favourite language, gets some new language features making writing asynchronous code easier.

I will update this document during the course of WWDC21 so it reflects a suitable learning path for everyone interested in the topic.

If you haven’t done so, yet, watch the keynote first to get a whole overview on what’s new for 2021.

Checkout my notes I have made during the session to get a quick overview:

--

--

Tobias Wissmueller

Documenting my Tech-Stack: Jetpack Compose for Android, SwiftUI for iOS and more and more Kotlin Multiplatform for everything.