My First Year of Android Development with Jetpack Compose

A Beginners Guide to Modern Android Development

Tobias Wissmueller
3 min readDec 14, 2022
Photo by Rami Al-zayat on Unsplash

It has been almost one year since I have started developing for Android in general and with Jetpack Compose in specific.

Having been an iOS and a Java Backend developer for quite some time, it was the right choice to make by adding Kotlin and Jetpack Compose to my skillset.

It has been the best time to start, because Jetpack Compose has only been released a couple of months before.

After a steep learning curve the results came in quicker and quicker and my biggest thanks goes out to the vibrant community that helped me so much. Whether it be here on Medium, on Youtube or some educational website, there is so much content out there that makes learning Android and Jetpack Compose development much easier.

With this article I want to give back to the community and everyone who wants to start Android development by providing a series of tutorials on the topics that were most important for me during my first year.

Does the community need more tutorials on the topics I will provide? No, certainly not. There are plenty of tutorials already out there that are all covering what I will cover.

--

--

Tobias Wissmueller

Documenting my Tech-Stack: Jetpack Compose for Android, SwiftUI for iOS and more and more Kotlin Multiplatform for everything.